Monday · Uncategorized

5 Pencils by Personality

School time is upon us, and that means school shopping! Over my 12+ years in school I’ve used all types of pencils and definitely have my favourites. Here are five pencils sorted by personality.

 

 

The Neat Freak

Screen Shot 2016-08-16 at 9.58.56 PM
My favorite pencil of all time!

If you find you’re a perfectionist, obsess over the details, or have more than just a tendency towards neatness, then the Pilot 2020 Shaker Super Grip 0.5 pencil is for you. It has the traditional click-to-get-more-lead function, but you can also just shake it to get more lead. Most importantly this pencil writes INCREDIBLY neatly. The 0.5 lead size helps to keep things organized as well.

 

The Vintage Lover

Screen Shot 2016-08-16 at 10.10.53 PM
Good ol’ Ticonderoga, what would we do without you?

If you like it classic, then the Dixon Ticonderoga Wood-Cased #2 HB Pencils are for you. It’s your quintessential old-school pencil, but the Ticonderoga brand holds up well from what I’ve seen. They sharpen cleanly, and the erasers work well too! All important things for those of us who have used one too many unusable pencils.

 

The One with Good Taste

BlackWarrior
Matte finish, shiny writing.

Classic pencil too plain for you? You might be better off with the Mirado Black Warrior from Papermate. This pencil is classy and sophisticated, with just a nod to old school. Hard to beat the gold lettering. This pencil, just like the Ticonderoga, writes cleanly and sharpens like a charm.

The Workaholic

unigel
Like a couch for your fingers…

If you write so much you get calluses, you might want to consider getting a comfier pencil. My recommendation? The Pilot Uni Alpha-Gel Shaker 0.5mm Soft Grip Pencil. It writes almost as cleanly as the Pilot 2020 Shaker, but has the most comfortable grip of any mechanical pencil. Seriously, I’m not sure I can explain how cool the gel grip on this pencil is. You may just have to try it yourself.

The Prankster

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 4.00.41 PM
Is it a mechanical pencil? A normal pencil?

When I first saw one of my friends using this pencil, I thought it was a regular one! Surprise surprise, the Paper Mate SharpWriter pencil is a mechanical pencil that looks like a classic one. This pencil is great for people who like the look and feel of a normal pencil, but like the long lasting qualities of a mechanical one. This kind of pencil might not be my personal favourite, but I know that for some it is the perfect way to write.

Added Bonuses:

To help you finish up with your school shopping here are my recommendations for other essential school supplies…

Best Sharpener

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 4.38.48 PM

This Staedtler Double-holed Tub sharpener is by far the best I’ve ever owned. I sharpens like magic. It is simply the greatest.

Best Eraser

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 4.40.57 PM

How can I adequately express my love for Pentel’s Hi-Polymer Block Eraser? It erases beautifully without leaving behind a ton of grainy eraser leftovers.

Best Pens

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 4.43.54 PM

The Pilot G-2 series pens are fantastic! The ink lasts forever, and when it does run out, you can buy replacement cartridges. The writing with these pens is also super smooth and clean. I recommend going for a .5mm size, it’s super crisp and clean.

So there you have it! Hopefully this has helped you with your back to school shopping, if you haven’t already done it yet. I wish you all the best of luck this school year!

4 thoughts on “5 Pencils by Personality

  1. I own the Mirado Black Warrior from Papermate… Does this make me The One With Good Taste? Haha no it’s more like an opposites-attract type thing! Anyways –

    YAY! First post! We’re doing this thing guys!

    And lovely post Sabrina – I’ll remember these reviews when I go school shopping later tonight 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

