Monday

A Good Harvest

Hello everyone! I just got back from a lovely weekend retreat with Power to Change, a student organization I am part of on campus. It was an awesome experience, and I wanted to talk a little bit about what I learned on the blog, especially since we talked about the idea of a Harvest, which happens to be the theme for this week. Just as a heads up, this post will be Christian in theme, so if that’s not your cup of tea, consider skipping to the end where my Inktober Segment is. If you’re curious, I encourage you to read the entire thing 🙂

img_4093
Some of the beautiful camp scenery ❤

Power to Change is an Evangelical organization at it’s core, meaning that their goal is to bring more people to faith in Christ. I think that in the past, I’ve too often overlooked that vital and important part of the Christian faith. One of the leaders at camp gave us some insight with a metaphor. If there is a fire in a building, what do you do? You pull the fire alarm to let everyone know they are in trouble. If you see a really awesome movie what do you do? You tell your friends about it. In a similar way, we are supposed to tell everyone about Christ’s love and sacrifice for us out of love so that we can see others saved.

Unfortunately, this is not an easy task. It can be so difficult and frightening to share our faith. The speaker at the conference, Andy, said that this is normal. In fact, the disciples were afraid too, at first. What gave them the strength to do the incredible things they did was the Holy Spirit. When the Jewish festival of Pentecost arrived, Jesus’ followers received the Holy Spirit.

When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place.Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a violent wind came from heaven and filled the whole house where they were sitting. They saw what seemed to be tongues of fire that separated and came to rest on each of them. All of them were filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues[a] as the Spirit enabled them.

Acts 2:2-4

There is incredible significance to this occurring at the time of Pentecost. You see, Pentecost was not just any Jewish festival, it was the festival that marked the beginning of the harvest time. The disciples were given the incredible chance of participating in God’s harvest, a time of work, but also of abundance. This new perspective was really interesting to me, because although I had heard of using the metaphor of a harvest to describe our task as Christians, I had never known how incredibly literal it was. The coolest part is that the harvest isn’t my responsibility, it’s my privilege to help the God of the Universe in His work.

So that’s what I learned over the weekend 🙂 What about you? Before I sign off to do my coursework, here’s my first contribution to Inktober- my witchsona!

Have a great week everyone!

witchsona

Leave a Reply

