Uncategorized · Wednesday

Becoming the Fireside Girls pt. 1: The Skirts

Hello everyone! It’s October which means….

IT’S TIME TO GET SPOOKY!!!

It also means that it’s time for me to share how I made my (and Satta and Melodie’s) halloween costume.

So this year (after watching way too much Phineas and Ferb) we decide to be the amazing kick-butt fireside girls.

 

Fireside_Girls_promo_picture

So there are four basic parts to this costume, the skirt, the shirt, the sash, and the hat. I decided that I would make the skirts to save the trouble of trying to find a skirt in the right shape/size/color, also it gives me an excuse to practice my sewing.

Originally I was going to make them using an a-line skirt silhouette, but that didn’t go so well, so I ended up making quarter circle skirts instead.

To do that you need your waist (or where you want the skirt to sit) measurement and the length you want the skirt to be. For Melodie, her waist measurement was 33″ and the length was 20″.

DSC_0149.jpg The using this website I was able to calculate the waist radius (which ended up being 20″) and length.

Then I unfolded my fabric completely, from one corner I measured out 20″ (or whatever your waist radius is). I continued doing this until I had created a quarter circle shape.

DSC_0150

Then from this shape I measured out another 20″ (or your length measurement) along the entire line. You should end up with something like this:

DSC_0151.jpg
Wow I really need to iron this fabric out oops..
Then I cut out a piece of fabric that was the circumference of your waist + 1″ by 5 inches. Here’s what both of my pieces looked like:

DSC_0152.jpg

Then I ironed both pieces (finally). After, I pinned the waistband to the skirt with right sides together and sewed them together with a 1/2 seem allowance.

DSC_0154.jpg
This post now ft. the fabric from my ironing board.
The I turned the waistband up and pressed the seam up as well.

DSC_0155

The fold the skirt in half with right sides together.

DSC_0159.jpg

Then measure down 2 1/2 inches from the top of the waistband.DSC_0161.jpg

Line up you zipper so the actual zipper starts at this point.

DSC_0162.jpg

Then using pins, mark where the zipper ends.

Continue pinning down the rest of the skirt and then sew down just the pinned portion of the skirt with a half inch seam allowance.

DSC_0165.jpg

Next, press this seam open. Also press the part of the skirt which was not sewn open, so it matches.

DSC_0166.jpg

Then unzip you zipper and pin each side facing downwards along the “seam allowance”. Make sure the zipper stop is lined up with the end of the actual stitching.

DSC_0169.jpg

Then sew along both sides of the zipper. Tuck the extra ends of the zipper at the top down and sew those down too

DSC_0170
wooo the zipper has been added
Next fold the top edge of the waistband down 1/2″ and press.

DSC_0171.jpg

Then fold the entire waistband down so the folded edge extends just slightly past the seam attaching the waistband and the skirt. DSC_0172.jpg

DSC_0173.jpg

Sew along the bottom edge and up the sides of the waistband. Make sure you don’t sew too close to the zipper teeth though or you won’t be able to open or close the skirt all the way.

Here is what the front and back of the waistband should look like at this point:

DSC_0175

DSC_0174

At this point it’s a really good idea to try the skirt on to make sure the waistband fits and to mark where you want to hem the bottom.

The last step is to hem the skirt! This can be a little difficult since the skirt has a rounded bottom but amy best advice is “it doesn’t matter what it looks like on the inside as long as it looks good from the outside.” What i like to do is every couple of inches make a fold in the fabric like so:

dsc_0190

I do this making sure the other side is still flat. I then I just sew along the top edge of the fold!

dsc_0192
Outside of the skirt
dsc_0191
Inside of the skirt
And BAM the skirt is done!

 

 

dsc_0294
Shout out to Melodie for modeling!
dsc_0293

See you next week

❤ Michelle ❤

P.S. Here is my second inktober: a fall landscape. 


This is inspired by the fields of marigolds at our local pumpkin patch.

Leave a Reply

