Friday

Recommendations on How to Waste Time: Things You All Should Check Out This December

So I really was not feeling the inspiration today, guys. It has been an…interesting week, I guess you could say. I’ve been having a really hard time focusing lately, so I thought why not take all the distractions that have been dividing my attentions as of late and make a blog post out of them? So that’s what I’ve done. Here are all the things you should look into (imo) this December. This post will probably be more of a list of random things that have been taking over my life, but you know what, there is some cool stuff on here that I think is worth sharing, so here goes. But first, a random fact of weirdness to brighten your day!

Ok, so I’m studying for history class, and we’re going through the chapter on the Byzantine Empire, right? So I’m reading my textbook, (World History by William J. Duiker and Jackson J. Spielvogel, 8th edition, if anyone’s curious) and I come across this sentence on page 360:

“Greek fire was a petroleum-based compound containing quicklime and sulfur. Because it would burn under water, the Byzantines created the equivalent of modern flamethrowers by using tubes to blow Greek fire onto wooden ships, with frightening effect.”

So naturally, I’m all like WAAAAHHHHHHH?!?!??!?! and Google this to find out more. And it’s true! The Byzantines had flame throwers, or at least something similar! Apparently, the flames they shot would not be put out by water, making Greek/Roman fire, as it was called, an excellent naval weapon. Here are some sources from online:

Greek Fire: One of History’s Best-Kept Military Secrets

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flamethrower

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greek_fire

Greek Fire Manuscript

And people say history isn’t interesting.

It is my personal belief (without looking into this at all) that Greek fire was the inspiration for wildfire in the Game of Thrones books, which leads me to the next part of this post!

Image result for a song of ice and fire

Over Thanksgiving, my cousin gave me all her Game of Thrones books, and I’ve kind of been binge-reading them. I know this is a REALLY late recommendation for either a book series or a TV show (like, I’m INSANELY late to this amazing party of ice and fire), but for the love of all that is pleasant in this universe, if you haven’t read those books (even if you’ve seen the show, because the books aren’t like the show exactly), I cannot stress this enough: DO SO NOW. George R.R. Martin is a genius; his writing and story-telling are AMAZING. I’m so sorry if this fantasy series takes over your life as it has mine, but… never mind, I’m not sorry; I promise, all the hours of sleep you lose madly devouring each book will be worth it. The books are, in chronological order, A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance With Dragons. Read them. Right now. Even if you’ve seen every episode of the show on HBO, READ THEM. Though there is, like, a ton of adult stuff in these books, so don’t read them aloud to your young children? Anyways.

Image result for doddleoddle album coverIf music is more your thing, check out doddleoddle (a.k.a. Dodie Clark) on Youtube. She does the catchiest (in a good way; you WANT these songs stuck in your head) ORIGINAL (ack! <3) songs, as well as covers, tutorials, vlogs, and some awesome collaborations. She plays ukelele, but also is well-learned in piano and guitar, and the girl can SING. I highly recommend her music and her channel. Watch it.

Oh! Btw, she recently released an EP. ^u^

The channel that has completely taken over my ears: https://www.youtube.com/user/doddleoddle/featured

Favorite song by her: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Ypnr33sEmg

Image result for adam ruins everythingWhile we’re talking Youtube, CollegeHumor and TruTV have this show called Adam Ruins Everything, and it is awesome. Imagine a progressive hipster jerk informing your brain with cool stuff in an interesting and humorous (in my opinion) manner. If you like Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (as I do), you’ll love this. Yes, I am late to the party on this show too, but hey, better late than never, right?

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=adam+ruins+everything

 

Depending on your political affiliations and similar beliefs, you might not like it, and that’s fine! 😀 But I enjoy this type of thing, so I thought I might share. The video that piqued my interest was How Prostitutes Settled the Wild West.

Speaking of learning, have you heard of factslides.com? Because if you haven’t, prepare to discover a treasure trove or tidbits of useless information to make you seem smarter. The site is literally just a slideshow of random facts, but you can look into specific topics too. I waste way too much time with this, but hey, who doesn’t like a little bit of knowledge?

http://www.factslides.com/

If you’re more of an artsy person, check out weavesilk.com. You can make the most incredible drawings with your cursor using this website. The lines look like they are made of pure light. Don’t take my word for it; see for yourself. Make some crazy cool digital art! 🙂

http://weavesilk.com/

Image result for the orbiting human circus of the air

Podcasts are awesome. Among podcasts, Night Vale Presents makes some amazing shows. Among their shows, the newest is The Orbiting Human Circus (Of The Air). The show is presented from the point of view of a lowly janitor working for a circus that performs floating above the Eiffel Tower, broadcasting its performances over the radio. It’s a lovely show that I enjoy very much. You can get it wherever you get your podcasts, or on Youtube.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTUzofKaoYAtTOkdnlkOUsg

One last thing before I go – we all know (on some level) that the brain is a muscle; use it or lose it. A great way to keep your wits sharp is to complete puzzles, like Sudoku!. Lately I’ve been doing a lot of Sudoku, and with the internet, it’s easier than ever! So yeah, if you have any time to waste this month (Ha! Time to waste? In DECEMBER?) or need a way to procrastinate, might I suggest starting a Sudoku habit. It’s quite rewarding. 🙂

http://www.websudoku.com/

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Recommendations on How to Waste Time: Things You All Should Check Out This December

  1. “Stuff that is tagged terribly” haha. Great recommendations Kelli! I’ve been thinking about reading Game of Thrones- after I finish all of Asimov’s stuff that is. Also, Adam Ruins everything is half hilarious, half completely depressing. Can we please do a podcast exchange? I highly recommend Crimetown. Some serious stuff went down in Rhode Island 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

