Friday · Uncategorized

Guys, it’s 2017…. What the Heck…?!

Well! New 365-day period! Happy New Year everybody!

Can you believe we are living in 2017? This is the future, guys! We have self-driving cars, virtual reality, and we can now literally edit DNA. What the heck?! When did we get here?!

I remember when I was in elementary school and I really grasped the idea of New Year’s for the first time. It was when 2006 became 2007. I thought it would be FOREVER until 2010. Well, it’s 7 years past 2010, and I’m kind of blown away by what the world become in the past 10 years, but especially the last 370-ish days specifically.

Looking back, I’d have to say that for me, the theme of 2016 was change. Not only did the world shift dramatically, but my personal life was also transformed. Moving across the country has really caused me and my lifestyle to change a lot, so much so that if you told my past self a year ago what my Jan. 1, 2017 would look like, I wouldn’t have believed a word.

This coming year is going to bring a lot of changes too, some good and some bad. Right now, I’m learning to drive, but the snow on the road is making that difficult – I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve gotten stuck in a snow drift! Heh… That’s actually part of the reason why this post is so late. I got stuck in the snow while driving home and it took FOREVER to get out, so I didn’t arrive home to my computer until much later than I wished.This is why you take Drivers’ Ed during the summer, kids!

Obviously, 2017 is going to be pretty different for a lot of us, but in many ways it will also be a continuation of events from 2016 (let’s hope just the good parts!). That’s also true of entertainment and culture as a whole; there will be overlap with 2016, but there will also be new things to enjoy. And since I feel like 2016 was a pretty bad year for a lot of people, I thought I’d point out some of the cool stuff that’s coming up this year! So, without further ado, here is some cool stuff in entertainment and other miscellaneous areas that is going to officially be a thing in 2017!

Image result for game of thrones season 7
digitalspy.com

First up, TV seasons: Season 7 of Game of Thrones is happening in 2017, which I am super excited about. As a new fan of Westerosi intrigue, I am so psyched! AGGHHhh I’m going to go jump up and down in a corner while silently screaming for a solid hour now. Bye. 😉

 

 

Image result for attack on titan season 2
parentherald.com

Also, Season 2 of Attack on Titan is promised, which was supposed to happen literally years ago. I’ve been waiting for this since 2014 and have seen it postponed so many times that at this point I’m not holding my breath. But still… there’s a chance!

 

Image result for beauty and the beast 2017
Wikipedia

Movies are also looking to be pretty good this year. The Beauty and the Beast remake starring Emma Watson (also known as a literal goddess who is the platonic ideal of an actress made flesh, imho) is happening(! ! ! ! ! !).

 

For younger movie-lovers, The Lego Batman Movie will make its way into theaters this year as well, and I don’t know about you, but watching the over-the-top dark mini-figure kick some Lego butt in his own movie sounds awesome (and also probably cheesy, but still something I will go see, probably). I can always say I’m just taking my younger siblings to see it ;). Jk, I’m proud of my weird love for kids’/animated movies, though I will in all likelihood drag a small child along so as to not look too weird. It hits theaters February 10.

Image result for wonder woman movie
IMDb.com

In other superhero movie news: a superheroine takes the silver screen! Finally, a female superhero movie! Wonder Woman is coming out June 2, and I could not be more excited. 😀 Diana is one of my favorite individuals in the DC Universe, and I’m so stoked to see her in her own movie! Now it’s your turn Marvel – give us a Black Widow film! 😡

 

For horror fans, Get Out is entering theaters February 24. It looks to be a fabulous horror movie. One of the things I like about it most? The terror isn’t a monster or a serial killer – it’s a way of thinking. Racism is the true horror, as this promising film demonstrates. Anyways, watch the trailer, ’tis incredible. Unless you aren’t into horror/thrillers, in which case, don’t watch it if you value peace of mind.

Honorable mentions: Ok, since these are the two movies I’m most excited about, we’re going to talk about Spider-Man: Homecoming and Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 2. The former looks to be the story of Spider-Man told in the best manner yet, while the latter appears to be equal parts hilarious and awesome (baby Groot, need I say more?) It is also the reason I am now carrying two types of tape with me in my bag now, so there’s that.

Speaking of which, 2017 is a continuation of the past just as much as it is the prologue for the future, by which I mean there will be a TON of sequels this year. We audiences are being treated to an 8th Star Wars (which is why I’m practically exploding with anticipation whenever I check my Pinterest feed), a 4th Pirates of the Caribbean, a 3rd Cars, and… how many is it now? Whatever, there’s going to be another Fast and Furious movie. Other sequels we’ll see this year include Thor: Ragnarok, not to mention another Blade Runner. So yeah, if you’re the type to follow a series like a newborn duckling follows its mother, you will not be idle this year (well, you will, but it’s movie-watching, that’s ok, right?).

30145666
goodreads.com

Ok, that was a lot of time spent on movies, which are great, don’t get me wrong, but surely not all there is. Let’s turn our attentions to something a bit more intellectual, say, a book! There will clearly be a ton of great new stories in the coming year, but readers like myself tend to be most excited about the next establishments in our favorite franchises, so I’ll focus on Rick Riordan’s next stories,  The Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy and  Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Ship of the Dead. If you enjoyed the Percy Jackson and/or Heroes of Olympus series, please, please read the Trials of Apollo and Magnus Chase. I get that they’re written for a younger audience, but they’re great, especially if you are at all interested in mythology. Seriously. Apollo is returning on May 2nd and Magnus Chase on October 3rd.

 

delorean.com

Attention Back to the Future fans! The DeLorean is making a comeback! DeLorean Motor Company has announced that they will resume production of the classic car sometime in 2017, and you can pre-order now if you’re interested. So in this area at least, 2017 is looking up!

Hamilton is also going on national tour this year, which I am super excited about, seeing as it was virtually impossible to get tickets to see the show this Broadway season. The musical will be traveling to cities from Des Moines to Seattle (yay! I might actually have a chance at going!) to San Diego to Denver. See the complete list of cities here.

 

And while this list has focused heavily on entertainment, I feel it’s only right that I mention some scientific advancements that will hopefully be made this year. Surgeons Dr. Sergio Canavero and Dr. Xiaoping Ren have endeavored to conduct the first human head transplant by the time 2017 is out. While they remain optimistic as to the experiment’s success, they have received a LOT of backlash from the scientific community concerning the ethics and science they are promoting. Still, if 2017 is the year that a head transplant becomes a thing…! More about it here.

So yeah, there’s a lot to look forward to this year. Happy New Year everyone! :):):):):):)

 

 

 

One thought on “Guys, it’s 2017…. What the Heck…?!

  1. Ok first things first, the human head transplant thing weirds me out. Your personality is in your head, so if it gets replaced, you aren’t you anymore! Secondly- thanks for the heads up about the Hamilton tour… I would love to see it if I’m in the Bay Area during the summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

